## 1. CALL TO ORDER

The Smith County ESD #2 public hearing was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by President Randy Melton. Roll was called; all five commissioners were present: Randy Melton, Charles Wilson, Leroy Biggers, Matt Thiessen, and Paul Perryman. It was certified that a quorum was present.

#### 2. PRAYER AND PLEDGE

President Melton led the meeting in prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States and Texas flags.

### 3. 2015/2016 BUDGET

Chief Rozell has met with all of the fire chiefs and discussed the needs of each of the fire departments; he is presenting a \$4,832,074 budget for 2015/2016. No action taken at this time.

# 4. TAX RATE FOR 2015

President Melton stated that the Smith County ESD #2 Board of Commissioners is looking at keeping the same tax rate of \$0.08464800 per \$100 of taxable value that was in effect for 2014; the effective tax rate would be \$0.083091 per \$100 of taxable value. Because keeping the same tax rate in effect raises more revenue; the board is required to hold the two public hearings. The tax rate will be voted on at a called meeting on Tuesday, September 8, 2015 at 6:30 p.m. No action taken at this time.

### 5. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Nelson Brumley, Chief of Winona VFD: He stated that they are still having issues in the area of the county that Gladewater is covering; he has looked for a building in that area to lease but hasn't found anything; he needs a station built there.

Sharon Guthrie: She stated that she appreciates the board leaving the tax rate the same; she doesn't understand the administration payroll growing so much and the fire fighters not having a raise; stated that the administrative assistant's salary was way out of line; too much for a bookkeeper.

Art Cameron: He stated that he appreciates the boards service; he is ok with leaving the tax rate the same while we work on paying off the debt, but when that is paid the rate needs to be adjusted.

# 6. ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

President Melton stated the meeting is adjourned at 6:45 p.m.; the regular board meeting begins at 7:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

Paul Perryman, Secretary/Treasurer